Soon to be updated!

Sorry for the long out of date information, but it will be updated within the first couple of weeks of February 1999.

Hugo Award Winners

The Science Fiction Achievement Award(tm), also known as the Hugo Award(R), is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society(R) (WSFS(R)). The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention(R) (Worldcon(R)) held that year, and determined by nominations from and a popular vote of the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo award given in a particular year is for work that appeared in the previous calendar year.

The listing below includes the Hugos and three other types of awards: the Campbell Award, Special Awards, and the Gandalf Award.

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the Best New Writer is administered by the Worldcon Committee and determined by the same nomination and voting mechanism as the Hugo but was originally sponsored by Conde Nast Publications. In 1979 sponsorship of the Campbell award was assumed by Davis Publications who currently sponsor it.

Special Awards are determined directly by the Worldcon Committee without any popular nominations or vote.

The Gandalf Award was an award which, like the Campbell Award, was administered by the Worldcon Committee and determined by the Hugo nomination and voting mechanism. It was sponsored by Lin Carter and S.A.G.A.

Present WSFS rules allow the Hugo nomination and voting mechanisms to be used only for the Hugo Award and the Campbell Award.

This file was created from the file hugos.txt in the Sf-Lovers Archives at Rutgers, which contains the following notice:

[This file is from the Sf-Lovers Archives at Rutgers University. It is provided as part of a free service in connection with distribution of Sf-Lovers Digest. This file is currently maintained by the moderator of the Digest. It may be freely copied or redistributed in whole or in part as long as this notice and any copyright notices or other identifying headers or trailers remain intact. If you would like to know more about Sf-Lovers Digest, send mail to SF-LOVERS-REQUEST@RUTGERS.EDU.]

Back up to Awards or the Speculative Fiction Clearing House

Last updated 13-Jun-95 by John Leavitt (

Copyright © 1995 The Speculative Fiction Clearing House